Announced! No Vacancy is inaugural winner of the Jean Little First-Novel Award!

After making the shortlist earlier this month, No Vacancy has been selected as the first ever winner of the Jean Little First-Novel Award! From the Canadian Children’s Book Centre site:

Among the six English-language awards presented tonight was the inaugural Jean Little First-Novel Award. Inspired and named after the prolific Jean Little, the $5,000 cash prize was awarded to Tziporah Cohen, author of No Vacancy. Jillian Tamaki, winner of the Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award for Our Little Kitchen, had previously won the 2019 CBC Fan Choice Award for They Say Blue and Janice Lynn Mather is the winner of the Amy Mathers Teen Book Award, for which she was also nominated in 2019. Other winners include Karen Pheasant-Neganigwane and Jordyn Taylor, who are both first-time nominees and winners for the CCBC Book Awards.